Curriculum Intent Statement

We have a thematic approach to delivering the 2014 National Curriculum. This enables us to make natural links between subjects, provides the optimal environment to motivate and engage children and maximises learning. We have adopted a scheme called Cornerstones, which provides opportunities for children to engage, develop, express and apply their knowledge skills and understanding in all curriculum areas.

Changes to the National Curriculum and Assessment

Children spend their first year of school in The Foundation Stage which makes a crucial contribution to children’s early development and learning. We provide children with a rich variety of teaching and learning experiences that are appropriate to their needs. The Foundation Stage is about developing key learning skills such as listening, speaking, concentrating, persistence and learning to work and co-operate with others. 

During this time their curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning which lay secure foundations for their future in school. 

These areas of learning are:

Prime Areas Specific Areas
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Personal and Social Development 
  • Mathematics
  • Physical Development 
  • Knowledge of the World
  • Creative Development

The outdoor environments are also a very special part of the Foundation Stage curriculum and as such they are carefully planned for and well-resourced to reflect the topics of learning. 

Children are assessed using the Ages and Stages, a progressive set of statements which lead to the achievement of The Early Learning Goals. Teaching and learning with very young children is based on practical experiences and activities with a great emphasis on the development of speaking and listening skills. 

Through playing and exploring our children develop learning experiences, which help them make sense of the world. They practise, build up ideas, and learn how to control themselves and understand the need for rules. They are presented with opportunities to think creatively alongside other children as well as on their own. They communicate with others while they investigate and solve problems, helping them to become active learners. 

Key Stage 1 (5-7 years) and Key Stage 2 (7-11 years)

The school, in common with many others, is required to follow the National Curriculum. The subjects that the children study are: English, Maths, Science, Computing, History, Geography, Design and Technology (DT), Art and Design, Music, Physical Education (PE), Citizenship and Modern Foreign Languages (MFL). 

Cornerstones Website

The school also teaches PSHE and provides Sex and Relationship education for years 5 and 6. RE is taught at all Key Stages.

The curriculum in this school is taught either through cross-curricular topic work or by more direct teaching in specific lessons. We aim to make all aspects of the children’s learning relevant and enjoyable.  Parents/Carers receive termly curriculum letters detailing what will be covered by each year group and are invited in to presentations by the children following completion of the topic.

Whole School Curriculum Coverage 2019/20